Getting Jerzi ready for school

Why is this so hard for me? Its not that shes growing up or Im losing my baby like most moms. For me it is the anxiety of registration, which went horribly wrong today. Getting school supplies. Buying school clothes but staying in dress code and also making sure it is something that Jerzi won’t fight me to put on every day. Its making sure she is on the right bus and gets home safely (the transportation system lost her 3 times last year). Its the stress of knowing that she will be gone 8 hours and my little helper won’t be here with me. Does any one else have anxiety like this with their child? I worry that I have to have that conversation with her teacher and school nurse about her illnesses (mental and physical) will they understand? Will they listen? Will they blow her off when she says her legs hurt and she can’t do what they want her to do in PE. Or her allergies act up and she can’t go out during recess. Will the school help this year when it comes to field trips and money needed for her to participate in things when I can’t afford them? Most parents don’t understand how hard it is to be a low income single mom disabled with 2 children that have their own illnesses and I try to balance it all and be there and involoved as much as possible. What is even worse is when she comes home with that sheet of homework, that I am supposed to her help her get done, and with my brain issues and memory loss, I can’t comprehend the directions to help her. She is so smart and I am extremely thankful because she is reteaching me. I am so proud of my little girl and I know she will ROCK the second grade, but its MOMMY that needs the help and support. My baby girl has got this and has it all under control……. Breathe mom, count to ten, and trust that everything will be ok.

Any advice or words of encouragement are very welcomes. Even your own experiences and fears.

2 thoughts on “Getting Jerzi ready for school

Leave a Reply

